Red LAI (Leisure & Allied Industries) OutRun Stand Up (Updated)

A good while back I posted a photo of an OutRun machine that had red sides, at the time I thought someone had painted them but recently I have confirmed that this is a official variation to the Australian market produced by Leisure and Allied Industries, the same company that manufactured the Australian only sitdown cab featured a few weeks back.

I have only come across two machines so far online so there’s not too many photos to be found.
One is owned by a guy called Dexter who did over a 2000km road trip to pick up his dream machine.
Below are a few pics of Dexter’s machine. You can check out the link for his complete journey here >>>>>>>
http://www.dragonslairfans.com/smfor/index.php?topic=702.0

20131022-215253.jpg

20131022-215310.jpg

20131022-215333.jpg
There are some other differences in this machine too including –
Raised kick plate
Coin mechs
Marquee and side art have the LAI logo

Below are photos of another Red sided OutRun found on Gumtree

20131022-215656.jpg

20131022-215718.jpg

Added below some red side panels from a LAI OutRun

20131027-210546.jpg

It would be great to see someone restore this variation to pristine condition. Let’s hope one turns up in the future.

I will add this machine to the arcade variations page soon.

5 thoughts on “Red LAI (Leisure & Allied Industries) OutRun Stand Up (Updated)

  1. Hi from sunny Queensland Australia, Tomorrow I am going to look at the Lai outrun cab you have seen on Gumtree. If its ok I will purchase it with the intent of doing a full restoration. I am new to the arcade scene so I’m hoping I will get lots of help from this site and other Outrun fans. I will let you know how I go. cheers Ray

  2. Hi,It’s all pretty rough . Haven’t purchased yet. Any idea where I can get a working pcb for it? I imagine they are hard to get. any help would be appreciated. Ray

Leave a Reply

